Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

I love cooking, I love food, and I love creating new dishes… or at least trying new recipes! I consider myself in “contest prep mode” despite still being 5+ months away from competition. As per usual, I eat clean 6 days of the week, and I have 1 cheat meal a week, but I’ve changed tactics slightly… at least for now! Before, my cheat meals would still be healthy… Well, not any more! (see previous post on my website) The TREAT meals are always planned and I’ve stopped (well… almost…) looking at nutritional content! I don’t want to be stupid about it, but I also want to be concious about it! However, as long as I’m aware of the ingredients, then I know I’d be okay!

So Saturday evenings has turned into “date night” with my husband! Wine, music, fantastic company, and cooking together! This is the first time we’ve been able to do it (since last week was Thanksgiving) and I look forward to more!

I must say, this dessert was INCREDIBLE!!! Found in “Taste” magazine that comes FREE at BC liquor stores, I’ve been eager to try it… and it did NOT let me down!!! Husband said it was SO good, it was almost gross!!! Cooking the pudding was amazing- the combination of real vanilla bean and the lemongrass was incredible- I knew when I licked off the spoon, the dessert would be to die for! However, combining it with toasting coconut??? WOW!

If you’re looking for a TREAT meal, this is one to consider! Easy to make, as well!

RASPBERRY SAUCE:

  • 3 Cups Fresh Raspberries
  • 1/3 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

In small pot, stir all ingredients over medium heat. Cook until raspberries start to release juices and start to break down, about 5 minutes. If too tart, add more sugar to taste. Place sauce in blender or food processor and puree until smooth. Strain sauce through fine mesh sieve , discard solids*, and refrigerate until ready to use. Can be stored up to 4 days in air tight container.

*(did not do)

SPRING ROLLS:

  • 1/2 Cup Arborio Rice
  • 2 – 14oz Cans Lite Coconut Milk
  • 2/3 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 1/2 Vanilla Bean, split lengthwise
  • 2 – Inch Lemongrass
  • 1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger
  • Pinch Salt
  • 1/3 Cup Dried Apricots, diced
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
  • 10 Phyllo Pastry Sheets
  • Non-Stick Spray
  • Pistacio Icecream (optional) (or flavour of choice)
  • Fresh Raspberries, for garnish (optional)

In pot, stir together rice, coconut milk, sugar, vanilla bean, lemongrass, ginger, and salt over medium-high heat. Bring to boil, then reduce to simmer. Cover pot and cook, stirring occasionally, until rice is tenter and pudding has thickened slightly, about 30 minutes. Transfer rice pudding to bowl, discard vanilla bean and lemongrass, and stir in diced apricots. Cover and refrigerate until cold, about 1 hour. Pudding with thicken quite a bit during this time.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350’F

Place 3/4 cup grated coconut on parchment-lined baking sheet and bake, stirring once, until golden, 5-8 minutes. Set aside to cool.

Gently unroll phyllo sheets and place on sheet of wax paper. Cover with slightly damp kitchen towen to keep from drying as you work. Lay 1 sheet of phyllo, long side facing you. Mist lightly with spray and fold in half lengthwise. Mist again. Sprinkle with 1 tbsp toasted coconut. Spoon 3 tbsp rice pudding along narrow side, leaving about 1/2 inch from edges. Fold long sides in to encase the pudding and start gently rolling pudding to other end. Transfer to parchment lined baking sheet, seam side down. Repeat process with remaining phyllo.

Spray tops of the rice pudding rolls and sprinkle with remaining untoasted coconut. Bake until golden brown and rice pudding has warmed through, 15-20 minutes. Let cool slightly and serve with premade raspberry sauce and icecream.

Nutritional Value PER ROLL, NOT INCLUDING SAUCE/ICECREAM

  • Calories 265
  • Fat: 7.2 g
  • Carb: 46 g
  • Sugar: 19 g
  • Protein: 4.5 g
Comments on: "Coconut Rice Pudding Spring Rolls" (1)

  1. BTW, if you’re wondering about the… shape of the icecream… it’s not that I have a squarish scooper, but rather because I bought 2 of the individual servings of vanilla bean icecream. I do NOT allow “crap” in the house, so I typically ONLY buy what I need- and I did NOT need a 1/2 used container of icecream in the freezer!

    Gotta love the individual servings now available! Yeah, more expensive, but cheaper on the waist-line!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

