Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Kale Chips

For the past week, I’ve been seeing post after post about how healthy kale is, andhow delicious kale chips are. I decided I had to see what all the fuss was! Most recipes seemed the same and super easy to make- only 3 ingredients! I decided to try making them in 2 different ways: the way the recipe said and how I thought the would turn out! The verdict? VERY YUMMY! And though I preferred my method for ease wise, the “universal” way tasted better, but they were still very close!

INGREDIENTS:

  • Kale
  • Olive Oil
  • KOSHER Salt

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 375′
  2. Thoroughly wash and dry the kale.
  3. Seperate the frilly leaves from the thick stem and break into bite size pieces.
  4. Layer onto tin foil lined baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with Kosher salt.
  5. Bake until edges just start turning brown- about 10 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool and try only eating a few!

MY WAY: Instead of drizzling with olive oil, lightly spray with Pam spray.

Why I liked my way better: I found I couldn’t control the amount of olive oil or where it was going, so I had pooling in some areas (those chips weren’t edible) and some kale had no olive oil… though it could be like popcorn- you don’t want it on EVERY “chip”… but an olive oil spray would work nicely!

Also don’t think you can substitute Kosher salt for any other salt. I don’t know what it is about Kosher salt, but it tastes SO different (and better!) than regular, and even sea salt!

Why is kale so awesome?

1 Cup Kale = 33 calories, insane amounts of Vitamen A, C and K, and decent amounts of Manganese and Copper

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

