Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

This recipe is so good and tasty, you’re probably wondering why I didn’t put it on my website first before banishing it to the archive website! Well, the fact of it is I realized it was yet another recipe from Oh! She Glows! I feel like I’m turning into her private recipe tester! I think at least 2 of the last 3 monthly recipes have been from her site and I don’t want to show favortism, lol!

However, there’s no denying this is a fantastic recipe! Below is the recipe I made… as I have made changes (as usual)… the link above is to the original.

INGREDIENTS:

 For the salad:

  • 1 cup uncooked Red quinoa
  • 1 (14oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh Cilantro, finely chopped
  • 2 Green Onions, chopped
  • 1 cup fresh corn (optional) or 1 can corn niblets
  • 1 small avocado, chopped into 1 inch pieces (optional)

 For the dressing:

  • 4-5 tbsp of fresh lime juice (Juice from 2 small limes) I used zest and juice from 1 large lime and it was just as yummy!
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup fresh Cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin, or more to taste

 

Directions:

1. Cook 1 cup Red Quinoa according to package directions… I’m certain it doesn’t matter what color the quinoa is- I’ve made it with both red and white!

2. While quinoa is cooking, prepare the chopped vegetables and whisk together the dressing.

3. Allow quinoa to cool after cooking for about 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork. Add the beans and vegetables and toss well.

4. Drizzle dressing over salad and toss well with salt and pepper to taste. Bring salad to room temperature before serving. Keep fresh in a sealed container for 1-2 days.

NOW! The website says it makes about 5 cups… but I got 7 cups! As well, she states it can be stored 1-2 days… but I was eating mine for about a week with no adverse reactions! Now, I didn’t make mine with the avocado as I can never manage to get a ripe one for when I’m making the salad! I’m certain that would affect how long to store it!

Eat it as a side, as a main, for lunch or dinner, this is a fantastic recipe with lots of possibilities! Tonight I made it and stuffed a bell pepper with it and topped it with a little cheese!

It was 1/2 Cup of the salad in the pepper- so depending on how you cut it and the actual size, that will vary!

Stuffing veggies is a great way to add more into your diet without it feeling like you’re eating a ton more! Bell Peppers are an excellent source of Vitamin A & C, a good source of B6, Folate, and fibre! A little messy to eat, it will sure to fill you up!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

