Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Sweet Potato Granola

Seriously? Sweet potato? IN the granola? REALLY?!

This sounded too odd not to try! When I saw the original recipe, I couldn’t help but think “….okay… this is weird!”  but figured I liked all the ingredients listed (usually a safe indication whether to try a recipe or not!) so decided to give it a try!

Now I will say, I did screw up- for some reason, I only had 1/3 cup of sweet potato and the recipe calls for 1/2 cup. My bad! But it was still good at 1/3 cup!

If you’re making this with the expectations of granola you buy in the store, you’re not going to like it! This recipe is a light taste, not very sweet, and my clusters were small compared to the monster clusters I get from my usual QHC… though it could have been to do with my crappy measuring skills than the recipe itself! However, it was just right for me!

Having it with my yogurt and berries, I didn’t want it much sweeter- the fruit took care of that!

And having it as a cereal, it kept its crunch in the milk. Though not quite sweet enough for just cereal, a pack of Stevia solved that problem! Or, if I had them in the house, raisens would have been FANTASTIC with it!

Sweet Potato Granola
Makes about 3 cups worth
Tim: 1 hour

Ingredients
1 3/4 cups old fashioned oats (you can try instant, but I have no idea what the texture will turn out like)
1 1/4 cup rice cereal (this helps give it the ‘clusters’)
1/2 cup cooked, mashed sweet potato (you can sub mashed pumpkin or mashed butternut squash)
2 tbsp applesauce (sweetened, unsweetened, cinnamon, whatever flavor you want)
1/4 cup corn syrup (honey, maple syrup, agave or molasses will probably work too) (I used Honey)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch ground cloves
pinch ground all spice
pinch cardamom
1/2 cup chopped raw almonds (or any other nut)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat mat.

Mix the sweet potato, applesauce, corn syrup, vanilla, salt, and spices in a bowl. Mix the oats and rice cereal in another bowl. Dump the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix until all of the dry ingredients are covered.

Dump and spread evenly onto the lined baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, then sprinkle the chopped almonds on top of the granola. Bake for another 20 minutes.

At this point check the granola and see if the edges are turning brown. If they are, the granola is done. It will get firmer as it cools.

I like my granola REALLY crispy, so once the edges brown, I mix up the pan of granola and continue baking another 5 or 10 minutes. THEN I let it cool. It’s up to you and just HOW crunchy you like your granola.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Per 1/2 Cup serving

  • Calories 224
  • Fta 8 g
  • Carbs 36 g
  • Fiber 4 g
  • Sugar 13 g
  • Protein 4 g

The problem with most store bought granola is you can never be certain as to the quality of ingredients and the added “crap” that often goes into these pre-packaged foods! Granola CAN be healthy- even if it’s high in fat- if it’s from seeds and nuts, then that’s better than the oils and junk added to the processing! Sugar is the same way! HFCS is bad, and yet I still see it everywhere on nutrition labels!

I’m certain this would taste much different with different sugars- PURE maple syrup, for instance! Or adding dried fruit at the end! SO many variations!

What would I change next time? Well- other than measuring correctly! I’d also increase the spices! I love my spice and I would have liked a bit more!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

