Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Nutty Breakfast Cookie

Who doesn’t love cookies??! What I don’t like about them is they’re often loaded with crap! Crap ingredients, added oils, sugars galore, preservatives and ingredients that have you scratching your head!

When I saw this recipe, I couldn’t help but think “HHHmmmm…” and as I was getting ready to hit the road the next morning- stupid early- I thought it would be a good opportunity to try them!

…and hopefully not eat them before I leave!

Typically what I look for in a good breakfast or morning snack are 2 of 3 things: protein, carbs, and fat. Carbs- GOOD carbs- to give me energy, protein for immediate satiety, and fat to keep me full! Ideally, I want all 3, but I’ll take 2 of them!

And this satisfies this “rule”

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 100g applesauce (you know, the individual cups! VERY handy to have!)
  • 1/4 cup hazelnut butter
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/16 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup carob chips
  • 1 packet stevia if using applesauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine the applesauce with the nut butter, then add all other ingredients and mix until well-combined. Shape into cookies and bake on a greased cookie sheet for around 14-16 minutes, then let cool 10 minutes before removing from sheet.

Depending on the size of the cookies, the number you get will vary- I got 9 and they were a nice size cookie- 2-3 bites.

Don’t forget to spray the sheet/foil… otherwise they will stick a bit!

Nutritional Info per cookie (made 9)

  • Calories 140 g
  • Fat 8 g
  • Carbs 13 g
  • Fiber 2 g
  • Sugar 5 g
  • Protein 3 g

This NICE thing about this recipe is that it can EASILY be modified! You can use a ripe, mashed banana instead of the applesauce. You can use whatever nut butter you’d like! You can use dried fruit instead of the carob chips (I had to use semi sweet chocolate chip nutritional info as I couldn’t find carob chip info anywhere) or a combination of chocolate and fruit.

The options are endless!

And don’t shy away from these because of the fat content- it’s ALL from healthy nut butters!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

