Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Ever since lurking on Pinterest, I’ve been itching to try new recipes- but I’m happy to say that this is a Kaylee original. Well… I’m certain there’s other recipes out there similar (or even the same) but I made this on my own, no recipe, and it turned out (if I do say so myself!) pretty darn good!!! Actually, I loved it!

With only 5ish ingredients, you probably have most in the house! I decided to buy an actual Basil plant- as it was about 1/2 the price of the fresh cut herbs, most of which I wouldn’t be able to use before having to throw out! I’ve actually managed to have some luck keeping basil alive!

 

Serves 1 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 small zucchini
  • Garlic
  • Fresh Basil
  • 1 tsp Nutritional Yeast
  • Fresh cracked pepper
  • Oil

DIRECTIONS:

It took me a while (okay, actually only 2 days casually looking and locating it in the second store- Winners of all places!) to locate a “grater” that would do the job. It’s a julienne “peeler”, which would cut the zucchini into nice thin strips!

 

Key to this is to cut the zucchini in half first! Otherwise as you get into the center of the zucchini, it will catch on the edges of the peeler and make a mess!

Peel and finely mince the garlic- I love garlic, so I used 3 relatively large cloves, so lessen it if you aren’t necessarily a garlic fan!

I’m not a huge basil fan as it tends to be a little overpowering, so I used 2 decent sized leaves and minced finely.

In a small pan, add a little oil. I’m talking “wave the oil over the pan” small amount of oil!!! I use an oil pump and lightly mist the pan. Let it heat and add the garlic. Make sure the oil is warm before adding the garlic, otherwise the garlic will absorb the oil rather than cook in it.

Once it’s cooked a bit and starting to become fragrant, reduce the heat slightly and add the zucchini strips, stirring regularly to coat with remaining oil and mix the garlic throughout. As the zucchini strips become more pliable and “pasta-like” add the minced basil, stir to mix. After about a minute, sprinkle 1 tsp of nutritional yeast and a few turns of a pepper mill and stir to mix.

Once on plate/in bowl, top with more fresh cracked pepper and eat immediately!

 

Serve with fish or chicken- I was having tilapia, but the zucchini pasta cooks so quick, it was ready before my fish! So if you’re having it with something, make sure it’s virtually finished cooking before starting the zucchini!

One addition I might make next time (I’m happy I bought 2 zucchini!!!) is adding 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice while it’s cooking and top with some fresh lemon zest! Either way, it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

