Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Let me be the first to say I’m not the hugest Ricotta fan. Most recipes I’ve tried, though, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed! And when I saw this recipe, I couldn’t help but think:

“oh, YUM!”

The yumminess factor completely outweighed the aversion to Ricotta cheese and I found myself planning a whole day around Ricotta! And the first recipe did not disappoint!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 slices day old bread
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup ricotta cheese
  • fresh raspberries
  • 1 egg lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • for serving: maple syrup and/or powdered sugar, more fresh raspberries

DIRECTIONS:

Spread each slice of bread with half of the ricotta cheese.

Carefully dot one side with fresh raspberries. Close the sandwich with the other slice of bread with ricotta cheese.

In a dish with sides and large enough for the bread, mix the egg, milk and cinnamon (if desired- I love cinnamon!) I have a nasty habit of cooking and serving my husband first, so instead of using the same container and doing them separately, I did 2 different containers so I could do them simultaneously.

 

Let the sandwich “soak” the egg mixture for about a minute, then flip the sandwich over to coat the other side with egg. I got right in there and got messy hands to make sure the ricotta and raspberries didn’t fall out. It worked, but it was messy!

Cook the sandwiches slowly in a skillet or on a griddle on one side until egg is golden brown and set, about five minutes. Turn and cook the other side. Depending on the thickness of the bread, you may also need to turn the sandwich on each of its four sides to cook any egg that was on the sides.

Remove the grilled sandwich from the pan. Cut into halves. Drizzle with maple syrup, dust with powdered sugar, and add fresh raspberries.

Mmmmm… can’t wait!

SO YUMMY!

Nutritional Information including 2 Tbsp Pure Maple Syrup

  • Calories 465
  • Fat 13 g
  • Carbs 69 g
  • Fiber 6 g
  • Sugar 29 g
  • Protein 18 g

Pretty much all the sugar came from the maple syrup. If you don’t have an aversion to the sugar free type, that’s an option. I personally refuse to eat anything with aspratame, splenda, or sugar alcohols in it- even if it does mean higher sugar! Though, since cinnamon helps regulate blood sugar levels, that’s why I included it in the batter.

If you look at the original recipe, it also calls for butter AND oil for the cooking pan, but I use a non-stick Rival griddle and have never had a problem with pancakes sticking. I feel no need to add even more fat to the recipe!

Husband felt that it needed to be a LITTLE sweeter because of the ricotta. I have a feeling some carob/chocolate chips in with the ricotta and raspberries would be very gooddelicious… a little piece of heaven. Just remember that any changes you make will affect the nutritional info!

The original recipe also called for 1/2 cup ricotta… I felt that was a bit too much. I started with 1/4 cup each bread slice but thought it was a little too thin so I added about another tablespoon which seemed perfect.

Cream Cheese (low fat, of course!) would also be delish!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

