Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

I don’t like tomato soup. It’s a known fact. I hate it. Never liked it. Never will!

Or will I?!

A couple years ago I was at a ladies retreat and one lunch the chef served us soup. I took a taste of it and it was fantastic! I asked what it was- roasted bell pepper? Nope…

Tomato!

But I don’t like tomato soup!

She proved me wrong on a few things- the tomato soup and cheesecake! I guess if it’s made from scratch, it’s a wee bit different that something mass produced!

I kept in contact with her and she gave me the recipe and I was dumbfounded at how retardedly simple the soup was!

20120624-191830.jpg
INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 small yellow onions, peeled and roughly diced
  • 6 cloves garlic (or to taste)
  • 2 – 28 fl oz cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • salt & pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a pot and sautee the onion and garlic for several minutes until it becomes transluscent and fragrant.

Add the stewed tomatoes and let simmer for a few minutes. Add the half and half and cilantro and using a hand held mixture blend until the soup is creamy and a desired texture.

Add salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with extra cilantro if desired.

NUTRITIONAL INFO (7 – 1+ cup servings)

  • calories 124
  • fat 4 g
  • carbs 20 g
  • fiber 4 g
  • sugar 10 g
  • protein 3 g

I made this to add to my lunch, so adjust the serving sizes accordingly.<;br

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

