Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Paleo Pizza Shell

Some of you may be thinking “What the heck is Paleo?”… and since so many others have already answered that, I’m not going to go into detail- if you’re curious, try:

Basicly, no wheat, grains, beans, legumes- no bread, pasta, rice, quinoa, peas, peanuts. Nothing (overly) processed. No sugar- unless it’s fruit, but even that’s minimal. Dairy is a grey area.

One of my clients commented that she was going to try (pretty much) a Paleo diet, but more out of health issues that have not been resolved by conventional means for over 5 years. Someone suggested to her about trying it (as Paleo cuts out a lot of aggrivants) She mentioned she was going to look in my recipe blog for Paleo friendly recipes. I just laughed knowing there wouldn’t be much… though substituting almond/coconut/tapioca flour for any wheat flour is easy enough!

Anyhow, I realized Paleo diet is quite similar to my pre-competition diet (with a bit more freedom!) so I decided to give it a try as well! I’ve been feeling the need for more structure and this will give me good guidelines! I started looking for recipes and I found this great site with this recipe for a Pizza shell- I’m always game for PIZZA!

(though I didn’t manage to stick to the “no dairy”… but Saturday’s my treat day, anyhow!)

20120701-064948.jpg

4 Servings

Ingredients

  • 1-1/4 cups flaxseed meal
  • 1 cup almond flour/meal
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp natural baking powder
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 1 tsp Italian mixed dried herbs
  • 3 large eggs, beaten until smooth
  • 3 Tbs coconut oil, melted
  • ½ cup water
  • toppings of choice

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 425° F.
  2. Combine flaxseed meal, almond meal, sea salt, baking powder and Italian herbs together until lump-free.
  3. Beat together eggs, oil, honey and water until smooth.
  4. Pour liquid mixture into dry mixture. Blend well until smooth.
  5. Press into desired shape.
  6. Place on a pre-greased or non-stick pizza pan or sit on a silicon baking mat.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes in the center of the oven until cooked.
  8. Add favorite toppings and then return to the oven to bake for an additional 10-15 minutes.

Nutritional Information (per serving)

  • Calories 587
  • Fat 37 g
  • Carbs 44 g
  • Fiber 34 g
  • Sugar 9 g
  • Protein 17 g

Keep in mind this does NOT include any toppings!!! And it’s 4 servings! My hubby and I split this pizza- even I’m thinking “Wow! I’m impressed I ate anything the rest of the day!” That’s a whole lot of… everything!

Don’t make this to “try something new” if you’re expecting anything remotely close to a regular pizza crust! If you’re looking at making some dietary changes, then expect a completely different taste and texture- but it’s not unpleasant or unenjoyable… it’s just… different!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

