Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Have you ever had a thought that seemed like a good idea at the time? That was me this morning as I was putting together this dessert. Both husband and I have been unusually hungry after dinner, so I’ve often been making Greek yogurt and berries of various configurations- tonight I wanted something different!

So my good idea turned bad?

I find dates a little frustrating to process. They start getting chopped up and fly and stick to the outside of the bowl. I had the brilliant idea of adding water to the dates to start processing as the original recipe I based mine on called for water. As it turns out, I didn’t even need the water!

So I flip the switch and magically find myself in the middle of Ol’ Faithful-a geyser of partially chopped date water reached impressive heights and I probably should have checked the ceiling. It’s spraying out of the food chute like a fountain and the force of the blades is forcing the water up and out from the seal of the lid like a waterfall! The counter’s covered, the cupboard doors, the floor… myself! After a retarded length of time, I figured I should turn the processor off as it didn’t get better, but continue to spray water everywhere. I drained as much water as I could, mopped up the counter, and continued with MY recipe!

So, don’t worry- water’s not even in mine!

And you’ve been warned! Use caution!

However, if you like pumpkin pie or gingerbread (as it’s a cross between those two flavors!) you should like this pudding! I can also see it in a graham crumb crust as a pie or tart filling!

 

Serves two

INGREDIENTS:

 * 5 dates, pitted
* 1/4 cup pumpkin puree

* 2 Tablespoons chia seeds
* 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
* 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
* pinch nutmeg

* pinch cloves
* 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1/4 cup 0% plain Greek Yogurt
* 1/2 banana, peeled and cut into chunks

* 1 scoop Vanilla or flavorless Protein Powder
* chopped almonds or plain Greek yogurt for garnish (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Starting with the dates (as they seem to be the hardest to process) process for a couple minutes. Add the pumpkin puree and blend. Combine the rest of the ingredients and process until very smooth and fluffy… walk away, fold some laundry, change the sheets, check the mail, etc!

(or in my case, get out the swiffer and try and unstick the floor!)  

Sprinkle with chopped almonds or additional plain Greek Yogurt, if desired. 

TIPS:

If you need pumpkin puree for a recipe that doesn’t call for the entire can, freeze the rest in 1/4 cup amounts in individual freezer bags.

NUTRITIONAL INFO (not including garnish)

  • Calories 193
  • Fat 3 g
  • Carbs 27.5 g
  • Sugar 16 g
  • Fiber 5 g
  • Protein 18 g

I decided last minute to make a graham cracker tart crust for my husband- since I had quite a bit of pudding left over! Now I’m not a cheesecake person, so I’ve never made the crust, so I just wung it!

…I think I just made up a word!

Anyhow, he said he thought he preferred the pudding in the tart shell… though I over cooked the crust so it was crunchier than it should have been. The pudding IS sweet, and he was eating the plain pudding immediately after eating the tart, so I think he ate too much!

I think this would be a good recipe for the Xmas holidays! In mini tart shells!

Guess getting over my cheesecake aversion is next! Gotta get better at the crusts!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

