Getting Healthy from the Inside Out

Zucchini Carrot Slaw

Back at the beginning of summer I was trying to decide which “eating discipline” I wanted to try… Or try again as in this case! My curiosity was between Paleo and Vegan (again) though, this time, specifically Raw… or as much as possible…

I’ve seriously been thinking about Vegan… again! But before taking the plunge, I figured I would play with new recipes! And the good part is that, for the most part, I can have it on the side as I continue trying Paleo!

This recipe does fall under both! And made up… kind of a couple recipes mashed together.

20120808-192613.jpg
INGREDIENTS:

1 Carrot
1/2 Zucchini
1 1/2 Tbsp guacamole (or avocado)
1 Tbsp Veganaise
Lemon Juice
Flax Seeds

DIRECTIONS:

Using a potato peeler or julienne peeler, shave the carrot and zucchini into about 4 inch strips long and 1/4″ wide. Kinda like fettuchini! Place in large bowl and set aside.

In a small bowl, combine the guacamole, Veganaise, and lemon juice. Stir until well combined.

Pour over zucchini/carrot and stir until evenly coated. Sprinkle with flax seeds.

20120808-193558.jpg
I usually have guacamole in the house which is why I used that instead of a slice of avocado… either, I’m certain, would work fine!

I recently tried Veganaise instead of Mayonnaise as I saw a show that was doing a blind taste test and it was liked the most of 5 different brands of mayo type dressings. I’m certain regular mayo, or even Greek Yogurt would work equally as well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

